Parthiv, Bumrah Named in India's Test Squad For South Africa Tour

Associated Press

Yuvraj Singh has fitness issues. Bhuvneshwar missed from the last two Tests against Sri Lanka due to his marriage but is now back in the squad for the series. Interestingly, this will also send out a message to the senior members in the team not to take their spots for granted as these are timely reminders of the bench strength. This thereby ensures that all team members are on their toes all the time. While there was one side, who suggested that Bumrah is best suited to the limited-overs, others suggested that its hight time that Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) rewarded the pacer with a Test cap. Even in the domestic circuit, he last played a first-class fixture way back in January when Gujarat qualified for the Ranji Trophy semifinals. However, Prasad explained his selection: "He has performed extremely well in the last 18 months".

However, there is a concern for the team as Bumrah had last played red-ball cricket way back a year ago when his side Gujarat played in the Ranji Trophy semi-finals.

The rest of the South African touring party doesn't have quite as many surprises. The selectors as expected have named three openers Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul in the squad. MSK Prasad said that Kuldeep Yadav was called off the squad because considering someone instead of two spinners of India would be risky.

India ranks top in the test ranking followed by South Africa and South Africa had only one tour to West Indies beating them 2-0. For all we know, with his inclusion into the Test side will add a new dimension to what is already considered a world-class attack.

Kohli-led team will start off with the warm-up match of December 30 and the first Test will be played from January 5, 2018 in Cape Town.

Full Squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Related News: