My Unpopular Sports Opinion: Lamar Jackson should win the Heisman... Again

NATION-NOW     3 reasons why Tiger's latest comeback could be for real     
       3 reasons why Tiger's latest comeback could be for real

The 2017 Heisman Trophy finalists are out, and unlike past years that have featured a larger field of contenders at the ceremony, three of the best college football players in the nation are heading to NY.

By looking at the numbers, it's quite evident that Jackson's improvement over the offseason has made him even more of a dynamic offensive threat than last year's Heisman campaign, albeit without almost as much media attention. Those totals give him 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns, both second-most in the nation, with just five interceptions on the year.

In the meantime, it now appears that Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield has the award locked up.

The AP player of the year has been awarded since 1998.

On Monday, Mayfield was named one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy, joining Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson and Stanford running back Bryce Love.

Mayfield is the only finalist to lead his team to the 2017 College Football Playoff. However, things have taken shape over the last few weeks of the season as the time to present the award is nearing.

"I'm honored to be chosen as a finalist with these two outstanding players", Jackson said in a statement.

An Ohio State player has taken home the trophy seven times, however, running back Archie Griffin is a two-time victor. With a game to go, Jackson's numbers look like this: 241/399 (60.4), 3,489 yards, 25 TDs and 6 INTs passing with 1,443 yards (6.9 avg) and 17 TDs rushing.

Penny was considered a long shot candidate, despite leading the nation with over 2,000 yards rushing.

Mayfield threw for 386 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Sooners to a 31-16 win at Ohio State on September 9. Barkley's 179.5 all-purpose yards per game and 21 touchdowns rank second and fifth, respectively, in the country. Love helped the Cardinal win the Pac-12 North title.

Related News: