Bumrah earns call-up for SA Tests

Associated Press

The Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) three-member selection panel, led by MSK Prasad announced the squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against South Africa on Monday.

The Men in Blue will play three Tests, six ODIs and three T20Is on their tour to the African nation.

Rohit Sharma, like the ODI, will captain the side in the T20 series in the absence of Kohli. "Parthiv had done well against England but had to make way for (Wriddhiman) Saha", said National selection committee chairman M. S. K. Prasad. The four pacers - Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav are automatic picks.

Squad: Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Three Test matches between the Proteas and the Indian team will be played at Newlands, Cape Town (January 5 to 9), Centurion (January 13-17) and The Wanderers, Johannesburg (January 24-28).

The selectors also picked the T20 team for the series against Sri Lanka and recognised consistency in domestic cricket by including Tamil Nadu all-rounder Washington Sundar, Kerala speedster Basil Thampi and Baroda's hard-hitting batsman Deepak Hooda. Ravichandran Ashwin, as well, hogged the limelight by becoming the fastest bowler to 300 wickets in Tests.

Team India are now playing their third Test match against the Lankan Lions at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi.

Kohli will return for the Test series in South Africa.

Related News: