Chitrakoot defeat sign of people's distrust in BJP: Akhilesh

Chitrakoot bypoll

The Congress on Sunday retained the Chitrakoot assembly constituency, with the party candidate winning by over 14,000 votes in the bye-election.

The counting of votes polled in the November 9 by-election began at around 8 am amid tight security.

So it was no big deal for the Congress to win the seat that traditionally belonged to the grand old party. "Many thanks to the people of #Chitrakoot for their faith and trust in the Congress party", Mr Surjewala said.

A total of 257 polling booths with VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) machines were set up for Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll 2017. In 2003, when the BJP formed Government with thumping majority, Congress had wrested this seat and similar was the situation in 2013.

Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi secured 66,810 votes as against BJP nominee Shankar Dayal Tripathi's 52,677 in a contest necessitated by the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh, 65, in May this year.

The cyber warriors pulled out past election results and said the BJP had won the seat only once, that too with a very thin margin. "The counting till now shows that the seat will go to Congress, but what happens here does not denote the mood of the state", he told ANI. Even during the first assembly polls in Chitrakoot held in 1957, the Congress candidate Ram Chandra had only got 31.45% votes and lost to Kaushalendra Pratap Bahadur Singh of Ram Rajya Party by 1800 votes , As Reported By TOI. The Opposition Congress hailed the victory as a signal of the "winds of change" blowing in the political landscape in the country, ahead of the crucial Gujarat Assembly elections next month.

Related News: