Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll: Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi wins by over 14000 votes

Chitrakoot bypoll results 2017: Congress retains seat, wins by over 14000 votes

Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi won over BJP's Shankar Dayal Tripathi in Chitrakoot Assembly by-election in Madhya Pradesh.

Congress successfully retained the Chitrakoot Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh, earning a thumping victory over the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP). The voting for the Chitrakoot Assembly Bypoll 2017 was conducted on Thursday. Mr Singh said the Chief Minister had made the Chitrakoot bypoll a prestige issue for himself. He had night stay at Turra and Sarbhanga villages on both the days. The toilet was later dismantled and the seat taken away by BJP workers.

But the question arises that why would CM Chouhan put his name at stake for a candidate who was not of his choice? Prem Singh won in 2003 also, but lost in 2008 elections reducing the Congress vote share to 25%.However, Prem Singh again won in 2013 on Congress ticket with a vote share of 36.9 %, but his death led to bypolls which were held on November 9 this year.

Mangal Singh the next day addressed a press conference alongside Ajay Singh of the Congress and announced that he had nothing to do with the BJP and that he accepted the flag because Nand Kumar Chouhan had come at his door.

Targeting the BJP's "Sankalp Patra" (election manifesto), the former Chief Minister said the party has been promising so many things but is yet to give a report card of the past seven months since they have been in power in Uttar Pradesh. In the end, the election results showed all this was not enough.

From the very first round the Congress had been leading the counts. "The winds of change are in the air".

Related News: