Big win ahead of 2019: Cong wrests Gurdaspur from BJP

Big win ahead of 2019: Cong wrests Gurdaspur from BJP

Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar secured 4,99,752 votes while BJP candidate Swaran Salaria secured 3,06,752 votes. He added that BJP's defeat marked the disintegration of the alliance in the state.

Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh, who had endorsed Jakhar's nomination for the party ticket, has already posted a series of tweets expecting a win going by the trends.

Congress communications incharge Randeep Singh Surjewla said the victory margin reflected the huge disappointment among the people towards the Modi government at the Centre. Everyone knows that even sarpanches owing allegiance to BJP and SAD were warned that they will be dealt with strictly if the two allies got a lead in their respective areas in the bypoll. The BJP candidate came in fourth, polling 5,728 votes. This by poll elections witnessing the race among three major parties such as the BJP, the Congress and the AAP.

The counting had begun at 8 am. The main candidates of the party who stood against each other for the Gurdaspur by-poll election are Swarn Salaria from Bharatiya Janata Party, Sunil Kumar Jakhar from Congress and Major General Suresh Kumar Khajuria from Aam Admi Party. A total of 7,587 voters opted for the None of the Above (NOTA) option.

Jakhar remained in the lead from the beginning as the counting of votes polled in the October 11 bypoll began on earlier in the day.

Almost 56 per cent of the 15.22 lakh registered voters exercised their franchise for the seat.

AAP's general secretary and coordinator for Gurdaspur bypoll, Lakhvir Singh, too had defected to the Congress days ahead of the bypoll.

"This is because Gurdaspur was considered an Akali-BJP bastion". His BJP rival, Swaran Salaria, polled 306,533.

Related News: