Double delight for Sunweb at Road World Championships

Team Sky and Chris Froome take bronze in team trial at Road World Championships

"The team was so homogenous, it was absolutely awesome", Dumoulin told after celebrating the victory with his teammates on the podium.

The battle now, was clearly between BMC and Sunweb, with Quick-Step coming in for a fine time of 48:25.62, some 30 seconds faster than Orica-Scott had just posted, and once again a team of riders from Sunweb were sat biting their nails as BMC hurtled for the line.

However, they were led superbly by Giro d'Italia victor Tom Dumoulin as he, Lennard Kamna, Sam Oomen, Soren Kragh Andersen, Michael Matthews and Wilco Kelderman recorded a time of 47:50.42 which quickly put them ahead of their rivals, most notably Team Sky.

Meanwhile, German team leader John Degenkolb has pulled out of the world championships in Bergen, Norway with a respiratory problem.

By this point all of the teams had set off, however, and Team Sky were already amongst the pacesetters, topping the first checkpoint by 10 seconds from Team Sunweb and hurtling towards the second checkpoint, when things began to go array. We knew that we were doing a good time trial but didn't know the time splits until the finish.

Australia's Matthews was surprised that they were able to grab the win ahead of the more favoured BMC, led by compatriots Rohan Dennis and Miles Scotson and Team Sky which featured four-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome. "But we made it over, and we were all flying".

"The previous wins were special, too, but we were favourites".

With the most hard section yet to follow, BMC Racing Team clocked the third-fastest time at the first intermediate checkpoint after 10.5 km of rolling terrain, 9.47 behind a strong Team Sky line-up, which featured Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana champion Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Vasil Kiryienka, Michal Kwiatkowski, Owain Doull and Gianni Moscon. The team was second in the Giro TTT, which is a good result.

The team completed the course in an impressive time of 55min 41.63sec to take the lead in the standings. "We finished with four riders, which made the race tougher, but we have to look ahead and work upon what we learned from today's performance for the season ahead".

Rivera teamed up with Leah Kirchmann from Canada, and Sabrina Stultiens, Lucinda Brand, Floortje Mackij and Ellen can Dijk from the Netherlands.

Related News: