Facebook Trying Out 'Snooze Button' For Temporarily Muting Friends

Facebook logo at Salon Viva Technology At Parc des Expositions in Paris

Facebook has confirmed to TechCrunch that it's now testing a Snooze feature that lets you unfollow friends, pages, as well as groups for a limited amount of time - 24 hours, one week, or 30 days. So instead of permanently unfollowing that person and never seeing whatever they're sharing on Facebook, you can choose to just mute them for 24 hours, an entire week, or 30 days. For instance, a friend being on holiday will often leave your feed overwhelmed by jealousy-inducing vacation snaps, which is the last thing you want to see on a grim September weekday. However, the unfollow option results in hiding the person permanently from your news feed. Should you feel that this is indeed something of an over-reaction, Facebook's testing of a Snooze function may appeal to you, as it lets you put your irritating friends on a timeout.

To Snooze someone, tap the drop-down arrow in the top right of someone's post.

Depending on how many friends you have on Facebook, your News Feed might be a fairly crowded place, filled with stuff you may not necessarily want to see. With the passage of time Facebook is getting better and more user friendly for its users.

Some of your Facebook friends are probably actually bad - that woman who friended you after you met at a party who uses Facebook exclusively to peddle leggings, say - and are worth unfollowing permanently. Now you have a feature that'll give you a bit of space now and bring that friend back to you later when they've hopefully had a chance to reflect on recent posts.

Facebook already constantly modulates how much you see of someone based on implicit signals, like if you Like, click, comment on or share their posts.

However, Facebook would continue to show users the most important posts further down the line, reports said.

Related News: