Fresh from Rajya Sabha victory, Ahmed Patel says will win Gujarat polls

Fresh from Rajya Sabha victory, Ahmed Patel says will win Gujarat polls

The Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee had taken their MLAs to a Bengaluru resort before the Rajya Sabha elections to discuss the election strategy.

Shah, 52, tendered his resignation as an MLA to Assembly Speaker Ramanlal Vora after giving an hour-long farewell speech in the House on the second and the last day of the monsoon session of the state assembly. The seven MLAs include Vaghela's son Mahendrasinh.

Shah, who on Wednesday resigned as legislator of the Gujarat Assembly, also challenged the Congress to a battle in the forthcoming Assembly polls.

The BJP has been in power in the state since 1995, except for a brief spell when a rebel faction led by Shankersinh Vaghela formed the government with the help of the Congress. Vaghela has now broken ranks with the Congress and is likely to be a BJP ally in the upcoming polls in which the opposition party hopes to cash in on a host of issues against its saffron rival. Launching a scathing attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP national president Amit Shah, the senior Congress leader accused them of "misusing" central agencies to further the cause of their party. Pandya said, "Congress has always had a culture to appease leaders in the top, may they be from the Nehru-Gandhi family or their close confidantes". The Congress had 57 MLAs in the Assembly until six of them resigned last month.

Our investigations revealed that this time around, the MLAs themselves have switched off their mobile phones so the party leaders can not call them back to Gujarat and get them to work.

The other three who had not joined the BJP were Ramsinh Parmar, Chhanabhai Chaudhary and Mansinh Chauhan.

Four candidates - BJP president Amit Shah, Union Minister Smriti Irani, Balvantsinh Rajput, and Ahmed Patel - were in the fray to three Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat. The BJP pitted Rajput against Congress candidate Ahmed Patel in the Rajya Sabha polls, but the former eventually lost despite cross-voting by some the Congress MLAs. Available on Android and IOS.

Related News: