Presidential Election 2017: Total 146 MLAs cast their vote in State Assembly

Officials of the Election Commission of India oversee preparations at Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru on Saturday ahead of the Presidential election. DH

The Tripura MLAs excluding Assembly Speaker on Monday cast their votes in the Presidential elections at Tripura Legislative Assembly. While Chief Minister K Palaniswami was the first to cast his vote at 10 am, AIADMK (Puratchi Thalaivi Amma) legislator and former Minister S Semmalai was the last to exercise his franchise by 11.56 am.

As many as 32 polling stations, one in Parliament and 31 in state Assemblies have been created for the polling which began at 1000 hrs and will continue till 1700 hrs across the country.

The Rajasthan Assembly has 200 MLAs in which BJP has 161 MLAs, Congress 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent. This fight is between two strong candidates National Democratic Alliance NDA's candidate Ram Nath Kovind and United Progressive Alliance UPA's candidate Meira Kumar.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on July 25.

The presidential election has once again divided the Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav and his son Akhilesh Yadav, with the father-son duo voting for separate candidates.

The Article 55 in the Constitution of India ensures uniformity in the scale of representation of the different States at the election of the President.

As many as 287 of the total 288 legislators in Maharashtra and one BJP Rajya Sabha MP voted in the Presidential elections on Monday, an official said.

The Congress-led opposition had chosen Meria Kumar as their presidential nominee.

Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra was the first to cast his vote followed by deputy leader of the Congress Legislature Party Chiranjib Biswal and Congress MLAs Debendra Sharma and Naba Kishore Das.

The value of vote of an MP is fixed at 708 in India, which is calculated by dividing the total value of all MLAs' votes of the country (5,49,474) by the number of MPs of both the houses (776). "We had announced it earlier itself because we can not vote for a candidate who was supported by the CPI (M)", he said in Agartala.

According to the EC document, it has allowed 14 Rajya Sabha and 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in state assemblies instead of Parliament House tomorrow.

The committee room in the legislative assembly has been made the polling centre.

Related News: