Thorpe Award Names Clifton to Preseason Watch List

Nebraska FB Jones Named to Thorpe Award Watch List

This year marks the fifth time since 2011 a Wildcat is a candidate for the Jim Thorpe Award.

The Jim Thorpe Award has been presented annually since 1986 by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame to recognize the top defensive back in college football.

Brown, who began his career as a running back for WKU in 2014, has started 14 games over his career - all at defensive back - and has appeared in 36 games overall.

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-50 players. Thorpe played professional baseball, professional basketball and was the 1912 Olympic gold medal victor in the pentathlon and decathlon.

For example, Charles Woodson won back in 1997, Roy Williams in 2001, Terrance Newman the following season, Eric Berry in 2009, Patrick Peterson in 2010 and Morris Claiborne in 2011.

Joining Henry on the Thorpe Award watch list is Virginia Tech defensive back Greg Stroman.

The UCLA Football team has yet another Bruin named to a preseason Award watch list, so #4sUp to that!

The 2017 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award victor will be announced on December 7 at the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The 6-foot, 209-pound Wingard was a first-team All-Mountain West selection last season after leading the Cowboys with 131 tackles.

- Earlier this offseason, offensive lineman Antonyo Woods was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

The Wildcats begin their seven-game home schedule and 2017 season slate on Saturday, September 2, against Central Arkansas, a game that serves as the ninth-annual K-State Family Reunion.

Wingard has also been named to the 2017 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List as announced by the Maxwell Football Club.

Related News: