A Video History of Pearl Jam and David Letterman

Nile and Tupac will be joined by rock groups Pearl Jam, Yes, Electric Light Orchestra and Journey, along with folk singer-songwriter Joan Baez as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

The ceremony also included an honor for Chuck Berry, who was the very first artist inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. "Every time they were there, they would blow the roof off the place", Letterman recalled, "and I'm not talking figuratively".

The choice of Letterman is fitting as the Better Man rockers - Eddie Vedder, Mike McCready, Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament and Matt Cameron - performed several times on his CBS show.

During Pearl Jam's induction, David Letterman offered a amusing, clever and witty introduction to the group, recalling his interactions with them through the years on and off the airwaves.

Let's get this out of the way first - Steve Perry did NOT perform with Journey. "They can't take this away from you homie", he said.

"It was you. I love these people so much".

A TMZ report Friday afternoon claimed Perry "will sing with the band at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony".

Vedder also used his speech to discuss climate change, saying "climate change is real, that's not fake news".

Following the performance the band was inducted by the Dhani Harrison, the son of the late George Harrison.

According to WKYC in Cleveland, Ohio, Snoop credited 2Pac with being the person responsible for getting the Dogg to smoke blunts when he was growing up. Try it out, make a little noise, I'll make you a deal. Whether it was human rights. Styles is also hoping to nab the number one spot this Friday, ending Ed Sheeran's epic 13-week reign on the singles chart with Shape Of You. Guitars flared on both sides of Eddie Vedder as he rumbled and rasped through the song's life-affirming chorus.

Neal Schon, clearly moved, said: "This is a long time coming, I thought this would never happen. this is all about you, the fans".

Like Shakur and Pearl Jam, Baez and ELO were all elected in their first year as nominees.

Related News: