Goa Assembly Elections: Congress edge out BJP, CM Laxmikant Parsekar loses

Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar, who failed to retain his assembly seat, resigned today after failing to steer his party BJP to victory in the state polls.

Parrikar will be the chief minister of the coalition government.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has 13 MLAs, is supported by three legislators each of the Goa Forward Party and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and two Independent legislators.

In the Congress-ruled state, the BJP is expected to win 25 to 35 in the 60-member house, according to exit vote surveys.

"I promise that we will give stable government which will work towards the development of the state", Parriakr told reporters in a joint press conference with Union minister and BJP's Goa election incharge Nitin Gadkari.

The Congress had won 28 seats in Manipur and 17 in Goa, followed by the BJP 21 and 13 seats, respectively. The BJP claimed the support of NCP MLA from Benaulim, Churchill Alemao, stating that his letter of support would be sent to the Governor soon.

"When none of the parties could get absolute majority in Goa, it was obvious that we would form the government with the like-minded parties".

"A party that comes second has no right to form government". They filed fake cases against me.

"In the situation of a fractured mandate, everyone is in the run to form the government".

GFP president Prabhakar Timble, who earlier told The Hindu that the decision to join the Ministry was taken by the leader of party's legislature wing, Vijay Sardesai, without his knowledge, resigned, saying he did not desire to embarrass anybody by recording reasons for the sudden decision.

The letter said the party had received a letter of support from the MGP and others.

The Mapusa victor was Deputy Chief Minister Francis D'Souza, who defeated his MGP rival Vinod Phadke by 6,828 votes.

Related News: